Garfield Jazz Foundation 

The jazz program is part of the nationally known Fine Arts Department at Garfield High School in Seattle, WA. This program is committed to maintaining the vibrant, unique American art form that is jazz. This philosophy is shared by several middle schools in the Seattle area, such as Washington and Hamilton International Middle schools, which act as "feeder" schools. Musicians of all levels are given the opportunity to learn, play, perform and compete at local venues and festivals around the country.

This year's schedule amply demonstrates this. Jazz Ensemble 1 has made frequent trips to New York City and Europe (including the Montreux Jazz Festival and the Umbria Jazz Festival) over the years. Touring is expensive, but no student is turned away from the program by financial constraints. Parents of students contribute what they can to their child's expenses. The Garfield Jazz Foundation also contributes, and provides a scholarship program to ensure that all motivated students are able to participate fully in the performance schedule.

The results speak for themselves. Graduates of the Garfield High School program have gone on to study at leading music schools, such as the Berklee College of Music, The Juilliard School, Manhattan School of Music, The New England Conservatory of Music, USC Thornton School of Music, Oberlin Conservatory of Music, the Eastman School of Music and Cornish College of the Arts.

If you love jazz - and the idea that it is alive and well at the high-school level - there’s no better way to keep that tradition moving forward than to write us a check! Your contribution will help ensure that the Garfield Jazz Program never stops "taking care of business."

GJF is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization committed to supporting excellence in jazz at Garfield High School. All donations are tax-deductible to the extent provided by law.

Make a donation and support Garfield Jazz - Click Here to Get Started

Garfield Jazz Foundation Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 school year

President                                                  Kathy Tanaka

Vice President                                           Asha Wadhwa                       

Treasurer                                                  John Dalton

Secretary                                                  David Tiemann 

Band 1 Representative                              Sally Vongsathorn 

Band 2 Representative                               Ian Glass

Band 3 Representative                               David True

Garfield Jazz Program Director                  Clarence Acox